Shravana Kumar Award

Shravana Kumar Award

Shravan Kumar Award


Scheme of the Award

For the first time in the country Shrawan Kumar award for serving the parents has been given persons in Mahavir Mandir. Mahavir Mandir trust has instituted this award in four categories; first award of rupees one lakh, the second award is for rupees fifty thousand, third award is for twentyfive thousand and some inspiration awards for rupees five thousand each. Any one can nominate the name of such person for Shrawan Kumar award with details of the service done to the parents.Mahavir Mandir Trust does not make any distinction on grounds of cast, creed or religion.

This annual Award instituted in 2010 to inspire new generation to emulate Shravan Kumar who selflessly served his parents and devoted his life to this noble act. It is given to any son who renders service to his parents and to a daughter-in-law for her service to her in-laws. It is open to all persons, irrespective of caste or creed but limited to the residents of Bihar. In 2011, the third prize was given to a Muslim Md. Tufail Ahamad of East Champaran district.

Any citizen of Bihar can recommend any such name who is really serving his parents by attending on them. It excludes N.R.Is. or affluent persons who take care of their elderly people by sending money or keeping them in hospitals or old age homes. People and pressmen are requested to give wide publicity, so that real persons in the foot-steps of Shravan Kumar, are awarded.

Mahavir Mandir trust in a meeting held on 30th May, 2008 decided to institute Shrawan Kumar awards for selfless service to parents. The first award will carry a cash component of one lakh rupees, second awards of fifty thousand rupees, third award of twentyfive thousand  and 25 dedication prizes each carrying one thousand rupees will be given to the deserving persons. In addition each award will carry a citation and a memento. The main consideration for selection will be actual physical service to the parents and the monetary assistance will be secondary.

The eligible persons for the award will be those who are citizens in Bihar and age will be no bar. The award will start from the calendar year 2008. Nominations will be received from 1st January to 31st January, 2009. It will be scrutinized and decided by a jury having eminent citizens from legal, administrative and social service background. It will be awarded each year on Janki Navami day which comes exactly one month after Ramnavami.

The Selection Committee is headed by Justice S.N.Jha (retd) presently Chairman of State Human Rights Commission. The award does not make any distinction of sex, caste or creed and,therefore, even muslim and other co-religionists can be eligible for the award.

In the year 2009 no one was found eligible for first award. The second award was given to Smt.Kiran Devi of Bhagalpur. Instead of one award in the third category, two awards were given to two persons, namely, Shri Sunil Upadhyay and Shri Pankaj Kumar of Rs.25,000/- each. Besides inspiration awards were given to six persons of Rs.5000/- each. This award was given for the year 2009.